The world’s most popular instant messaging service is WhatsApp. This service, in the meantime bought by the Facebook group, has long since surpassed the instant messaging, internal to the group, “Facebook Messenger”. About 1.5 billion users use WhatsApp every day to exchange text or voice messages. In France, there are 21 million active users. For information, Facebook Messenger is used in France by 26 million people.
An IFOP survey from March 2018 shows that the WhatsApp app is widely used in France to communicate with family and family. Yet this messaging giant is regularly under fire. One of the main reasons is the low respect for privacy. Especially since the takeover by Facebook, many users are questioning how their personal data is handled, partly very confidential. If you have decided to choose a more secure option than WhatsApp, here are a few lines explaining how to delete a WhatsApp account.
What you need to know before you delete your WhatsApp account
Your decision is made. But you’re wondering, “How am I deleting my WhatsApp account?” You must know that you’ll lose all messages, conversations, and backup files by deleting your WhatsApp account. Not all of these items can be restored after the account is deleted. The deletion process is the same for Android and iOS.
Here’s How to delete a WhatsApp account
To delete your instant messaging account, it’s not enough to uninstall the app on your mobile phone. You have all kinds of personal data that have been stored on the provider’s server, which has many advantages. If you change your mobile phone, you will find all the data after you have logged in. If you want to leave WhatsApp completely, you must follow the following procedure:
Step 1. View settings: Start by launching WhatsApp. Then go to “Settings.” You can click on the three buttons at the top right to access the settings on Android systems. On an iPhone, you’ll find the Settings button at the bottom right.
When you click on the three WhatsApp buttons, it opens a menu with several options. This is where the “Settings” option is located.
Step 2. Delete my account: In the account menu, select the item called “Delete My Account.” You then get to a page where you will have to confirm the deletion of your account. By tapping “Delete My Account,” you’re not deleting any data yet.
After pressing “Delete My Account,” you still need to confirm the deletion process.
Note: If you’re not looking to delete your WhatsApp account, but rather change the phone number associated with your account, you need to press the “Change Number” button.
Step 3. Confirm the deletion: You are then asked to confirm your wish to delete the WhatsApp account. To do this, you must provide your phone number. The program tells you once again that deleting the account will result in the loss of account data, profile picture and data, that you will be removed from all groups and conversations in WhatsApp and iCloud-Backup. Once you’ve typed your phone number, you can confirm the deletion by tapping “Delete My Account.”
Once you’ve entered your phone number, you still need to press “Delete My Account” to close the process.
And behold, it’s over! WhatsApp draws your attention to the fact that it may take a little while before your data and backups are permanently deleted. But what exactly does it mean to delete your data? And what happens with your data?
And what happens to your data after you delete your WhatsApp account?
For years, WhatsApp has been accused of collecting and recording an impressive mass of personal data. WhatsApp records all the user’s data associated with their accounts, such as their username, date of birth, phone number, status and profile picture. Messages and photos are usually not stored for the long term but are stored for 30 days in a buffer in case of non-distribution. Deleted messages can be restored with a backup on the mobile phone. They do not normally land on WhatsApp’s server. However, the service regularly reads your contacts’ data. By collecting location points and cross-checking them with call tracking, WhatsApp creates internal user profiles.
Although WhatsApp guarantees the definitive deletion of the data, it is not clear what happens to all the data that has been collected. Connection data is stored in WhatsApp’s database, and for legal purposes, the company reserves the right to retain other items.
According to WhatsApp, this is what happens once you delete a WhatsApp account:
- You no longer have access to the account.
- It can take up to 90 days for backup data to be deleted.
- Files and messages already sent to other users are not deleted.
- Copies of certain data (example: login data) can be stored anonymously in the database.
- Information held by other Facebook entities is also deleted.